Log in
Log in

ELECTION: SAJA announces newly elected board for 2014-2015‏

2013-12-08 6:30 PM | Anonymous
Congratulations to the re-elected and newly elected board members of SAJA
New York -- The South Asian Journalists Association members re-elected three incumbents and added one new member to the board for next year, in the annual election where six candidates ran for four open seats.

Those elected at the annual meeting on December 5th were Sovy Azhath, Anup Kaphle, John Laxmi and Mythili Rao.

Azhath, the current president of SAJA, is a producer/writer with CNN/HLN in New York. Kaphle is the Digital Foreign Editor of The Washington Post. Laxmi, who is the treasurer of SAJA, is a Freelancer.

Rao is a producer with WNYC's The Takeaway show in New York.

They join current board members, Sharaf Mowjood, Shefali S. Kulkarni, Amita Parashar Kelly, Raakhee Mirchandani Singh, Aarti Virani, Jigar Mehta, and Sree Sreenivasan, who is the co-founder of SAJA.

Leaving the board after six years of serving SAJA, is Anusha Srivastava, the Assistant Director of Career Services at Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism.

The board will hold its first meeting in February, when it will elect officers for SAJA's executive committee made up of SAJA's president, vice president, treasurer, secretary and an at-large officer.

Get Involved!
The new board hopes you will get involved in SAJA activities in the new year. As always, please send ideas, tips, suggestions to

SAJA@20 Conference!
Mark your calendars for August 1st and 2nd, 2014. On SAJA's 20th Anniversary we will be hosting a big conference at Columbia University in New York City! Not one to miss!

We are in the midst of a Scholarship Challenge to raise money for scholarships, mentor-ship programs, educational endeavors, and career building activities for budding journalists. An anonymous donor is willing to match dollar for dollar all the funds that are donated to SAJA, up to $25,000. Please consider donating today:

Stay Connected!
Please feel free to reach out to our Board Members here:
Twitter: SAJA Board:
And our Facebook Page for Student Members:
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software